1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm constantly coming out!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Em1234, May 27, 2013.

1. Em1234

Em1234 Guest

Hey, I'm new to EC and I'm looking for some advice.

I am femme/ lipstick lesbian. I am out to a lot of people in my life but I feel that I am constantly coming out. This is either to new people I meet or people I haven't seen in a long time (I came out for the first time last year aged 21). I want to be honest about who I am but it's exhausting! People say they are surprised when I tell them I am gay which means that people never guess unless I spell it out for them.

Anyone find yourself having to constantly come out? How do you deal with this?

I am working on my pride and I am getting there but it is still a big thing for me to come out to someone, I still worry about making them uncomfortable etc.

Please give me advice :icon_bigg

Em

2. Dans le placard

I can relate to this so much. Every time I meet a friend I haven't seen since coming out, I always feel obliged to tell them. Just think, though, that the reason why you're doing it is because you no longer want to be afraid to be yourself. Saying things out loud to people constantly does indeed feel nerve-racking, but it should eventually make you feel better. I also think of the positive comments I've received; if people are so happy for me, then that's enough to make me happy. :slight_smile:

3. greatwhale

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Anyone who is gay and leads a life of meeting new people in potentially social contexts (e.g. if you're in a couple) you will find yourself coming out pretty constantly, whether you look the part, or not.

4. caughtbywitness

Unless you become really famous, you'll probably going to be doing it all your life!

5. Ettina

Out Status:
    Out to everyone