1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another one of those threads...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Talifangirl, Jun 2, 2013.

1. Talifangirl

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Well, this is my first post here and it has taken me a while to even join this site. But, this is a great place and I'm glad to be here.

Anyway, over the past year or so I've determined I am a bisexual female. I've been questioning since I was a freshman in college- so for about 5 years. Last year, I realized I had a massive crush on one of my best friends. We talked about it and she wasn't interested, but we are still best of friends. She was the first person, I guess you could say, that I came out to.

Fast forward to about a month ago where I came out to my other two best friends. One said she had already known that. The other wasn't shocked at all and I have found nothing but support from my friends.

Now, I really want to come out to my family- my mom in particular. We are best friends as well and I hate lying to her. I just can't find a good way or time to do it. I just haven't been able to swallow that giant lump in my throat and spit it out. She is a super busy person, too, so free time alone with her is hard to come by. I did have an opportunity a few weeks ago where we were alone in the car for an hour, but I just couldn't do it, as much as I want to. I know she will be super supportive no matter what, she's already said that (if any of her kids came out as gay, anyway).

I've thought about writing her a letter- I'll be moving away in 2 months to start a professional school, so I'm wondering if I should wait until I move to tell her or not. I'm just looking for some advice in general on the subject. My dad- well he will be a different story and I'm no where near ready to come out to him. Thanks again, everyone!

2. EllieAugust

Hi there,