1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

College? Work? Help!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Kat22, Apr 21, 2008.

1. Kat22

Hey all.:help:

I have been in college for 2 years now. In high school I was a good student (I think I got maybe 2 Bs the entire time, the rest were As) and for my first semester in college I was a good student. After my first semester I had a personal tragedy, so I turned to partying and alcohol to deal with it. For the first time in my life, I got a C and a D. I took summer courses to bring up my GPA, but then last semester I got a C again (due to being so far behind from doing poorly in my classes before) and I lost my scholarship. This semester I have had a lot of issues to work out (my mom hating me because I'm gay, my dad being stressed due to my grandfather being very sick), and then my grandfather just died. I took it pretty hard, and missed quite a bit of class. The classes that I should have easy As in now, I have Bs and Cs.

I want to take a year off from college and work to save some money, and figure out what I really want to do. I would continue to take some courses (maybe 6-9 credits online or something), but would not be the 15-18 credit hour full time student I am right now. Also, I am at the college I am at because of the scholarship I was given. Now that I no longer have it, I would like to transfer to a bigger place (the town that I'm in has less than 5,000 people).