1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I really need help coming out to my parents!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Adrian Piper, Jun 20, 2013.

1. Adrian Piper

Okay, this is my first time posting in a forum, but this has been bothering me for a while.
    So, I've just recently realized that I was transgender. I've felt uncomfortable being a girl for a while, probably since middle school, and it got worse when I started high school, but it wasn't until a few months into my sophomore year that I actually came to terms with the fact that I'm trans. I was researching transgenderism and FTM transitioning like crazy, and I knew that I definitely want to transition at some point. The first person I told was my girlfriend that I've been going out with for about seven and a half months now. She was really supportive, and she told me that, even though she sees herself as a lesbian, she loves me as a person, not because of my gender, so she'll help me through everything. After her, I told three of my friends, and they were generally supportive, as well.
    I really want to tell my parents soon, but I don't know how to tell them, and how they'll react. I realize that it's kind of soon, seeing how it's been a little less than a year since I figured out that I'm trans, but I am sure about it.