1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice for getting over a straight crush

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by step49x, Jan 14, 2007.

1. step49x

There's a guy at my college that I've had a crush on for the past semester or so. Unfortunately for me, he's straight. I've spent the last couple months trying to get over him, but so far, it hasn't been working. So, I'm looking for some advice on how to get over my straight crush.

A little background info: I'm currently a freshman in college, starting my second semester. I met my crush soon after I started, and I've been in love with him ever since. He's one of my best friends, and I see him almost daily. He was the second person I came out to, and he was really supportive. I have not yet told him I have a crush on him, though. He is one of the people I talk to whenever I have something that I really need to discuss one-on-one (except for the whole issue of me being madly in love with him and not being able to get over him).

The thing is, I know he is straight. As I have talked with him when looking for support/advice/someone to rant to, he has also talked to me about some of the girl problems he's been having.

Any advice on how I might be able to get over him, or how you might have gotten over any straight crushes that you might have had?

2. tired_of_lying411

I can't say I have much experience, but how about distancing yourself from him... just a bit, I guess the perfect situation would be for you to find someone that you could be in a relationship with and then, re-discover your friend, as just a friend, you could even clear the air by telling him how you once had a crush on him... I guess it would be a lot less threatening than telling him you currently have a crush on him.

Just a few thoughts.

3. Paul_UK

Paul_UK Guest

Well I'm not the best person to advise on getting over crushes either.