1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Told my Dad today on the drive home

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by phoenix89, Nov 26, 2013.

1. phoenix89

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Today was the start of my Thanksgiving break from my University and it is normally a 45 minute drive, took over an hour and some because of the snow. Mind you, we were about 5 minutes, at most, away from campus when my Dad and I started talking about dating.

He knows that I do not date, and that I am focusing a lot of my energy on my school work since, I am in my second year of Graduate School. I mentioned that there are not a lot of attractive guys at my school and he laughed about it. Then I mentioned that there is a thing of Asexuality/Demisexuality, where people do not find others attractive, I basically just slid that into the conversation, and he said, and I quote, "It is probably a mixture of the two". I think my heart skipped a beat or two when he said that.

I knew he would be accepting since my Twin sister is a homoromantic asexual. I do not know if he knows that she is Ace, but does know that she is a lesbian, and yells at people, mainly in my family when they are not supportive of her.

It was just a relief that my Dad knows. And I love that he knew and accepted it without much discussion. I can't explain what a relaxing feeling it gave me.

2. DesertTortoise

There should be "like" options here.

3. fortheloveoflez

4. sysreq

the closest thing is 'quote'

anyways op very happy for you; glad your dad is a good parent :slight_smile:

5. phoenix89

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Thanks. He really is an amazing parent and I couldn't ask for a better Dad.