1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

coming out do over

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by sldanlm, Dec 1, 2013.

1. sldanlm

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I had my first same sex experience when I was 15. Although I dated guys in High School,
    I knew firmly by the time I graduated that I was a lesbian. I stayed in the closest though
    out of fear. Five years ago at Thanksgiving I was forced to come out to my parents and
    immediate family. Fortunately I was 22 and had been living on my own. To say things didn't go well would be a big understatement. My mother didn't slap me, but she looked like she wanted to. She did everything else though, including telling me I was no longer her daughter. My father wasn't insane about it, but not accepting either. He said I couldn't be a lesbian because I was too pretty to be one. The things he said in my defense to my mother were all of the typical things you hear from some straight people, you're just confused, you haven't met the right guy yet, she's not serious, she's just rebelling, asserting her independence, she picked up the wrong liberal messages from that college up north, etc. I thought things would blow over by Christmas, but my mother actually got worse. So I basically gave up, and only occasionally made the 800 mile trip to see my brother and sister. I would mail Christmas and Birthday cards, but didn't get anything in return.

Recently I got a call from my parents asking me to come down on the weekend after
    Thanksgiving. No one else would be there. My mother wanted to see me again, and now
    considers me her daughter again. My father offered to pay for the plane tickets. I agreed