1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Good Reaction, but Bad Feeling Lingers

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by Eli33, Feb 24, 2014.

1. Eli33

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    All but family
    Hi there!

So, a few nights ago I was speaking with my mother. It was a very typical conversation, nothing special. Out of nowhere she stops me in the middle of my sentence and asks, "Are you a lesbian?" Automatically, instinctively, I say yes. Then came a reaction that was better than I had ever expected. We talked a bit about it, I have support, all should be well.

I had been worrying about coming out to my mother for many months. I had been searching for the right words, the right opportunity, the right night when she was in the right mood... And it all happened for me, so abruptly and without any warning or control. I am so grateful for the positive reaction, and yet...

Whenever I think of that moment, I get this dreadful feeling in my gut/heart and I can't really explain it. I feel like maybe I haven't processed it yet, or I just wasn't quite ready to be out to her. I suddenly have a bit of internalized homophobia going on too, even though I'd started to get a lot more comfortable with myself before this.

I was wondering, has anybody else had similar reactions after being outed/coming out, even if it technically went well? Does anyone have an explanation for this?

Anyways, this is a little ranty thing and though perhaps a little silly to post, I would really appreciate some thoughts. Thank you, and have a good day!

2. The Escapist

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi! Congrats on coming out!!! That is incredibly awesome!!! :grin: :grin: :grin:

I thought your post was interesting because I'm in a little bit of a similiar position.