1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Out to First Two People

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by SimpleMan, Apr 4, 2014.

1. SimpleMan

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Long time no post, but today was an important step for me and wanted to share.

I work in a school and this week was Spring Break. I've been going crazy working 60 hours a week, and took the opportunity to visit friends near Philly for part of the week. Took the week off my second job as well. Before the trip, I said in therapy I felt like I was spinning my tires trying to understand my fear and shame. In that session he had me set a goal date for when I would be out to someone. I chose May 29th. Far enough away to give me time, but close enough to make it feel real.

The friends I was visiting this week were my old boss and his family. They are like a second family to me and have always been on the top of the list of people to come out to. I seriously was thinking about it on the way out. Early conversations in the week would have been great segues to saying it to them, but I just couldn't get the words out.

Our conversation last night after having dinner with coworkers was the absolute PERFECT time to tell them. It was a very in depth conversation about LGBTQ rights. (We've always been on the same page there.) It was on the tip of my tongue, but I was so busy thinking of how to say it the conversation turned before I could get it out. I lost my courage.