1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I Guess I did it...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by gettingthere, Oct 14, 2008.

1. gettingthere

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Ok so I'm new to EC and this is really my first post so we will see how it goes....
    So I sat down my family this weekend and pretty much flat out told them I was gay and it went ok I guess. Now it's just super awkward/quiet whenever I am around any of them and I just really don't feel like I can talk to any of them. My mom has been constantly crying all the time which is sort of freaky, my brother completely accepts it and told me how difficult it must of been that I said this and how it really didn't bother him, my dad is ok with it too I guess he just said that he knows that I am a really "morally correct" person and he just wants me to be careful not to get mixed up with any of the craziness of being gay (whatever that means I guess). While I am glad that I came out to my family it just seems like it is going to be difficult to talk to and relate to these people again. It also seems like an extraordinarily difficult to be public with this info and find someone to hook up with and date...? What can I do to help my family and what are some of the best ways to hook up and meet other gay guys without being a total creep? Any help or response would be greatly appreciated...! Thanks a lot.

2. biisme

Well, first off, welcome to EC!

Well, the one of the hardest things is already done. You've told your family, and that is a very hard thing to do for many people. It sounds like you have a great brother. Your dad also sounds like he is okay, but might be a little misinformed about homosexuality. He might benefit from some PFLGAG meterials. This has some links for information for families:
    http://community.pflag.org/Page.aspx?pid=539