1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I accidentally outed myself WAY too early

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by suchconfusion, Mar 31, 2016.

1. suchconfusion

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    All but family
    So, I first started to come to terms with being bi when I was a sophomore in high school. After another 6 months of turmoil and soul-crushing self doubt, I just embraced it as being what it is and took it in stride. I guess, over the course of that year, I started to dress more tomboyish because I was slowly realizing I wanted to look androgynous. I was "never" going to tell my parents. Obviously, that's unrealistic, but I was definitely going to keep it a secret into my 20's. I thought I knew what would happen, which is being that my dad is Muslim and my mom is Christian, and both are religious (especially my mother), it would backfire in the worst way possible.

This story is mostly about my mom, but my dad must've suspected that I wasn't straight because I was dressing in a very boyish manner (stereotypes), so one day, while we were standing in the kitchen, he outright asked me if I was gay. He caught me so off guard that I'm sure, even though I denied it, it showed all over my face. He was surprisingly accepting and just kind of awkwardly questioned me a little bit until giving up and made a weird joke that sounded like he was accepting of me. This was so unexpected, because I thought if anything, he would shun me, but he probably knew he had to accept me if he wanted me to keep talking to him after the divorce.