1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out to my mom

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by SkyFlyer, Sep 2, 2016.

1. SkyFlyer

I'm an upper level student at a Midwestern college. Earlier this year I started by coming out to a close friend, and then a few more over the last few months; all were accepting and friendly. One of those friends is also gay, and we having dating for several weeks now. He is an awesome guy, very supportive, shares similar interests to me, is respectful and courteous, and I love being with him.

I have always been close to my parents and openly shared everything with them, except the fact that I have been attracted to men. I didn't really care about saying anything in the past, and wanted to give myself space to figure it out over the past few years. As I began to become comfortable with the fact about a year ago, I felt a shift. Before I was just sexually interested in guys, but watching my friends going on dates, I wanted to have that experience too. I wanted to be able to hold hands, go out together, etc. To make a long story short, I met my future boyfriend at the beginning of the year, and slowly I came out to him, and he became a wonderfully supportive confidant and stronger friend. After some awkward beating around the bush, we both recognized we liked each other and started dating. Over the past month I have felt some of the happiest, warmest feelings I've felt in a long time being with him. It's like a whole new world was opening up where I could finally be free.