1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Out to the Parents

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by Cool Beans, Sep 1, 2009.

1. Cool Beans

Well, it's been a long time since I've posted. I've been awfully busy preparing for college and such, but I did spend some time coming out to some people.

For those with short attention spans, an abbreviated version appears at the end of this post. :icon_bigg

So far over the summer I've come out to several friends, one of whom is also gay; I also came out to my roommate, who in turn came out to me, as some of you may remember from a previous thread I started. And finally came the event I had been dreading for two years: coming out to my immediate family.

I wanted to do it shortly before I left for college; that way, I would be home long enough to not be accused of dropping a bomb and running, but I would not have to be home long enough to endure major awkwardness/conflict if things went sour. The story starts on Monday of this week.

I knew I had to come out to my sister before I told my parents. She's 26, divorced, and my only sibling. I had wanted to come out to her in person the previous Wednesday when she was at our house cleaning, but I was unable to make myself do it. I couldn't do it the next time I saw her either, so I decided it would have to be by text message.

I initiated the conversation with something about helping me move into the dorm. Then I dropped the bomb. She was immediately supportive and pledged her help with our parents.