1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out in an ignorant religious family

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by torrentluver, Sep 14, 2009.

1. torrentluver

So I've been out pretty much everywhere except in my family life. I love being out at work and with friends because I am so much happier and I can really be myself and not pretend to be someone else. I highly recommend this to everyone. That doesnt mean that theres setbacks. I came out right after I graduated from highschool since I knew that there would be drama if I did it during highschool. Anyways, after I came out I lost alot of the "friends" that are more like people that are around because they dont have a better offer to be around at the time. Anyways my true friends stuck by me and now life is sooo much more fun and Ive been much happier. At work everyone knows and we all get along and we just joke around and have fun.
    So I came out to my parents the other day and the pretty much reacted exactly how I thought they would. My mom didnt understand it and started crying, and my dad was an ignorant ass hole that says that I've conditioned myself to think Im gay and that its a choice.
    Im glad I came out because now I really know how "loving" my family really is. Its funny how my family is LDS and all high and mighty and rightous, and yet they are so judgemental and hatefull. I argued with my dad yesterday morning for an hour and got no where. My dad told my mom and I confirmed it with her a little later and she just said she doesnt understand it because god doesnt make people like that.