1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hello!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by hkguy1, Oct 9, 2009.

1. hkguy1

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Hey!

Although this is my first time posting I've been a lurker here for quite some time. As of recent I've been coming out and decided I would post my experiences here. So I think my entire life deep down inside I have known that I wasn't straight at least but would always deny and bury that fact because of my upbringing in a somewhat religious family and because its not the most accepted thing in society.I would try so hard to like girls but it just wasn't there. It wasn't until this time last year after being on my own in college for 2 years that I really began to start coming out to myself. This past summer is when I finally began to tell others. The first person i told was my prom date from when I was in high school. Its funny though because it turn out that she was gay also :lol:. So needless to say she was accepting. the next person i told was my sister. This was probably the worst of all my experiences so far. when i told her she cried but not because i was gay. She was hurt that my life would be harder and that i would have to go though bs that i shouldn't have to. She said that no matter whether she agreed with it or not that i would always be her big bro and would always love me! Another person who I've told is my Friend Matt. He is one of the greatest straight friends in that he actually will listen to me talk about my gay issues and is really the only one i can talk to about them as of right now. I've also told a few people in my section( i play in a marching band) and friends in general that i trust and not one has treated me any different than before( which was a fear that i had prior to telling them). So overall things have been good so far! Coming out has definitely gotten somewhat easier bu