1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best way to tell friends from college?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by drake86, Dec 30, 2009.

1. drake86

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    So I have a bunch of friends from college that I want to tell but I don't know how. I graduated last year and we now live all over the country. I don't think I want them to find out through word of mouth and kind of feel like I should send them a letter via email. I hope this is a good option because this really is going to be the final step next to telling my parents.

2. flymetothemoon

I'd say email is a fine option. If they're all over the country I'm sure they will understand that you couldn't tell them face to face, but you didn't want them to just find out from word of mouth either, you wanted it to come from you.

3. Ander Blue

Copenhagen, Denmark (normally Troy, New York)
    When I told my best friends from home, I wrote them a letter and sent it by email. I feel that it helped a ton being able to write everything out and fully come out to them in the letter. I think they were absolutely fine too with the fact that I chose to come out to them by letter rather than in person. Putting the reason in your letter I think can help with that.

4. Stephen505

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone