1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out at work and more...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by Filip, Jan 24, 2010.

1. Filip

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    In my mind, 2009 will always be the year when I stopped lying to myself and others and finally started the coming-out process. Over the course of the year, I came out to most friends, my mother and my brother. That did leave quite a few people in the dark though, including my colleagues at work and my judo clubmates

After the events of last week, it seems like I dynamited most of the closet away in just a few days, so it seems to be time for another thread to give you two stories from the week of coming out! Excuses for the length in advance. Brevity isn't my strongest point...

Coming out at work:
    Maybe it’s best to start with a short background. I work as an engineer for a biotech company. The site I work at is a production facility. On a daily basis, I work together with three other engineers (plus one boss), and, of course, with other departments, manual labourers, management etc…

When I started working, I wasn’t out to anyone, so the thought of coming out at work never crossed my mind. However, as I came out to more and more people at home, and simultaneously got along better and better with my colleagues, I did seriously start entertaining the idea that I might eventually trust them with this piece of information about myself. It would make it easier to chip into discussions about non-work life, instead of playing the pronoun and avoidance games that I got pretty tired of by now.