1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Came out to Staff

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by Markio, Jan 30, 2010.

1. Markio

I work as a resident advisor at my university, and the whole residence life staff is very friendly. Today the staff of every building met in a conference room for staff training before the spring semester.

Our last session focused on social justice, and so we had a special guest come and lead us through different exercises with issues of identity. Our last exercise was called the walk of privilege, where we all stood even on a line, and the leader would read statements regarding identity, such as, "If you've ever had to go hungry or miss a meal because you didn't have enough money, take a step back," or "If you commonly see people of your gender in leadership roles, take a step forward." By the end of the exercise, all the straight white males were in the front, the people of color or poor women were in the back. Most of the women and I were in the middle.

After the exercise, we were free to lead ourselves in a discussion. A guy of color that I think is cool was very angry at the denial and ignorance of the privileged members of the staff, and his words were very passionate and sparked a lot of heated but honest dialogue.