1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Finally came out to my sister

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by Davo, Aug 23, 2010.

1. Davo

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I am now finally out to my sister, about time given that I’ve been attempting to tell her for about 8 years, and have only now struck up the courage. As usual it was in the worst way possible, and only because I felt I had been backed into a corner.

The problem I’ve had in the past is that my family don’t talk about relationships; or personal matters at all really, which has made them unapproachable on this matter. While my best friends know, I’ve kept my sexuality a secret from my family, I’ve felt I’ve had no other choice. I’ve had a boyfriend now for well over a year, being nearer to him was a huge influence on my decision to move closer to home this year. And after over a year of fate seemingly keeping me and my boyfriend apart, we are now purely by chance, going to be in the same city this year, and we’re going to move in together (which I’m incredibly excited about).