1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out again after three years

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by factwithinfiction, Aug 28, 2010.

1. factwithinfiction

So I've been what I call "Moderately" out of the closet since my freshman year in high school. What that means is I don't tell people they usually ask me. There are few that I tell just because but for the most part its usually really personal to me and if they wanna know they can just ask or look on my facebook or whatever. It really doesn't matter to me.

That's not the point of my post. When I was a freshman I came out to two members of my family: my mom and sister. Even though I was more than desperate to tell more people, I didn't think it was a good idea because my family might have just thought I was confused. Well fast forward three years-I'm out of high school and I had yet to come out to the two main men in my family: my stepdad and my brother (my dad is a different story). I wouldn't say I was more withdrawn about my sexuality, it was just more like its personal so back off type of thing. Anyway, I decided to take a leap of faith and come out (rather randomly) to my stepdad.

I was scared because my stepdad never had the greatest track record with homosexuals. It wasn't that he beat one up it was just the usual homophobic comments. And it was weird because I usually don't get super duper anxious about this but I was now. I was SO close to missing the opportunity to tell him but I grew a pair at that moment and just told him.