1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Out at University!!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by BradThePug, Sep 5, 2011.

1. BradThePug

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    So, on Thursday I went to my universities Pride meeting which is for LGBTQ people and straight allies. (Sorry this is a bit late, I've had a lot going on lately.) Since it was the first meeting we had a get to know each other type of game. How it worked was when something was said that applied to you you stood up. So, when bisexual was called I stood up. At first I could not believe that I had done this, but then I realized that I'm now a college student, and this is a new start. Also at the same meeting I came out as genderqueer for the first time in person!!(!)

Also, I went home this weekend, and I found out that it has been leaked to my somewhat homophobic youth director that I am bisexual. I was hoping that I would be able to tell him in person, but now he won't even talk to me. But even if I did tell him, I know that he still would've had the same reaction because he threw my friend out after giving him a long rant. So, I've come to the conclusion that if he does not accept me, then I don't need him in my life constantly telling me that I'm a sinner and going to hell.

I also got the same reaction with some of the older church members finding out. I was always involved at my church from age 6 up. As I began to realize my sexuality though, I began to joint attend an accepting church and my other church. A lot of the older church members won't let me in now, but I'm ok with that, because I realize that I do not need religion to keep me going anymore. The reason that I was so depressed was because I was being held back by what was supposed to help me.:bang: