1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Came out to my professor!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by Katelynn, Sep 21, 2011.

1. Katelynn

OK, so today I finally got up the courage to go & see my old psychology professor today, partially to say hi since I haven't seen her since graduation back in 1999, but mostly so that I could tell her about what has been going on with me, namely that I came out this summer as transgender. After several previous attempts that failed when she wasn't in her office, I was both a bit nervous & a bit happy when I found her there today! So I knocked n her door & said hi. She did recognize me, but she couldn't remember my name since it had been so long. After I told he, she immediately remembered me! So we sat down & she asked me what I had been up to since I graduated, so I began to tell her about university and working in the music industry & some of the other things I had done in the last twelve years. And then I said it - I camme out at the end of June - as transgender. She smiled and said wow! and then we talked about things for about a half hour, mostly about how I had felt and issues with my parents, as well as how I am pretty sure that I am also a lesbian (which was a bit hard for me, since I knew she is gay herself; this was the first time I've ever told another gay woman face-to-face that I identify as being a lesbian as well, o I was really hoping she wouldn't be upset or offended), but mostly my plans to fully transition to my true gender while I am going to college this year and next. She congratulated me onn such a huge step I had taken and when we were finished, she even hugged me. She said she is totally supportive & that I can talk to her when I'd like, as well as that she wanted me to keep her updated as I go thru my journey to become myself finally. The only thing that I wished had gone better was when she told me I would be a trailblaz