1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Maybe about to come out

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by gonecountry, Oct 14, 2011.

1. gonecountry

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    So I'm a freshman in college and am currently out to nobody. I'm thinking of coming out to a group of friends I met when I first got to college even though I am not even out to my closest friends at home. Any similar experiences? Suggestions? Should I come out to my home friends first even though it's something I'd rather not do over the phone/Skype?

2. Rinamir Mortem

As long as you tell them I feel any manner is fine.

I first came out to my housemates a few weeks after I moved into Uni and I would give it a little time to let your new friends get to know you so that they learn to appreciate you as a person before giving them the chance to label you.

As for your home friends, I would say tell them when you are ready and perhaps tell the ones you are closest to and, in experience, individually in case they want to ask questions. Then move on from there when you are comfortable.

Ultimately, it is when you are most comfortable coming out that is the best time.

3. Vesper

I also first came out to my friends where I live now, and then to one of my closest friends, who lives in another state. There's no rule that you have to come out to your closest friends first.

If you don't feel comfortable Skype-ing or phoning your closest friends, there are other options, like snail mail, or (if you don't mind going informal) email or IM.

4. Hidinginalabama