1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Coming Out Story

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by chrisb, Dec 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chrisb

It was the first year after i graduated from High School. I had known i was gay for atleast 6 or 7 years and before that i really hadn't known for sure what it meant. I knew for sure though that i would never tell anyone i was gay, or even that i thought i might be. As time went on my courage grew and i thought well if my mom laughs at Ellen Degeneres jokes maybe she wouldnt mind so much if i was gay. I mean that was really my first big experience of seeing someone who was out, proud and gay... i remember becoming obsessed with her show. It didn't even matter that she was a Lesbian she was gay and so was i and we shared this bond, that no one around me knew while watching her, laughing at her jokes....then all of a sudden i'd hear someone say something derogitory about her, i may have chuckled silently, to not be caught, to not me called names, to not see my loved ones stared at me like i was a person at the circus with bewilderment and confusion.... no i was not going to be that. So as years went on all i ever thought about was how i could hide being gay, i plasted every poster of a female i could find all over my walls, WWE Divas, Christina Aguilera, Brittney Spears, Janet Jackson...while secretly knowing i wasnt displaying these women on my wall as sexual toys in some game of lust other teenages did, i actually admired these women, strong, beautiful, sucsesful, i was a wrestling fan since i was 5 years old it was one of the few male bonding rituals i genuinley liked. And it had nothing to do with there looks or packages or anything like that. Hulk Hogan was the cartoon like hero, Shawn Michaels was the playboy and acrobat i wanted to be like, and Bret Hart was inspirational athletes athlete.