1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Came Out to Somebody in the Workplace

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by phospholipase, Mar 18, 2012.

1. Okay, so I'm an undergrad doing unpaid research with a graduate student in a research lab, but for all intents and purposes, I'll consider it my workplace. This story is in a way, two coming outs at once.

My story will begin, on a less related scene, about 10 weeks ago. One day I decided that I wanted to attend my chemistry TA's office hours, just to get to know him. I was the only student there, and we chatted for a good amount of time. The next week I go to his office hours again, and we were again alone. The next weeks, however, other student began to come. I got a bit disappointed. So fastforward like 10 weeks, and I began to develop a crush on my TA. We're about at the end of the quarter, so I contemplated telling him that I like him and would like to be friends--or something else, but I had to figure out how he felt.

I began with an indirect approach: I made a post on a website that caters to students at my school for "missed connections." I think it's reminiscent to a service on craigslist, but whatever I don't know. I just made a post saying that I have enjoyed whatever time he and I have spent together, despite him being a graduate student, and me an undergrad. The theory behind the website was that, by chance, the person you're talking about will see your post. It's a way to try to reconnect with someone you don't know how to contact, or would be too shy to directly talk to.

By luck, someone who works with my crush read the post, and commented on it. We had a couple back and forth comments, with the middleman saying that he'd tell my crush, but that probably never happened.