1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Out To Dad -- Really Bad Reaction

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by BornAnew, Aug 9, 2012.

1. BornAnew

Soo here's how my coming out has been so far, I've posted a few threads so some of you might remember:

- Came out to 9 very close friends in April at university....went amazingly well, have a lot of support from them. This part went so well that I never thought anything could go wrong.

- I'm of south asian origin (India), an only child & my parents have pretty orthodox Hindu views. My parents are also both doctors, they are the type of doctors that imo are the arrogant type "what I say is right because I'm a doctor, so deal with it"...that's their attitude. We've lived in the UK for all my life but my parents recently permanently shifted back to India, I continue to stay in the UK though because I'm at university here and have no intention of leaving the country.

- So Came out to mum at the end of April. Very bad reaction. She's convinced I can change, says its unnatural, when I get a boyfriend I won't be allowed home etc. Further more she went into depression, even said suicidal things sometimes to me which basically was "I have no grand children to look forward to or any weddings. You're our only son, it's your responsibility to get married or your mum will die".

- Came to India for the summer in June. Mum outed me to grandma then which was a terrible decision as she's from a generation that doesn't even know what homosexuality means. Her reaction was pretty much the same as mums but calmer in how she handled it...honestly I felt a bit proud about how grandma handled it...it could've gone so much worse with her but it just went bad. But now mums blaming Grandmas health on me saying she's become depressed since she's found out.