1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I came out to my mother. Now what?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Stories' started by Adrian1111, Jan 1, 2013.

1. Adrian1111

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    This is my first time on this site.

I'm 16, and I just came out to my mother. She's not religious or homophobic but when I told her she was very shocked and can't believe it. She kept asking me what makes me think that I'm gay. She said she couldn't accept it mainly because we're Indians and we live in South-East Asia. Then she told me not to give up hope to get out of homosexuality.:tears:

I told her to get more knowledge about homosexuality and maybe talk to a few people online. She says that she will get more knowledge and that talking to people won't help her because she needs another Asian(with Eastern culture) to talk to. Basically, I think she's concern about what our extended family will think.

I'm not sure to be sad or relieved at here reaction. What can I say to her? Advice please. :help:

2. teluphone

i totally understand how you feel, knowing my parents would never accept me as gay devastated me but at the same time relieved me as i now somewhat know the outcome if i tried to come out to them (they have become ever so overbearing about hoping i would get out of homosexuality).

It could be your mother just needs a little more time to understand you are the exact same person as you were before you came out.

3. shovelman

You already made the first step in telling her but now she has to come in terms with your sexuality although it sounds like she's accepting to some degree which means there's hope for her still.

4. Adrian1111

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    Thanks for replying guys.

teluphone, you live in Singapore so I think you know what it feels like. Guess I'll just have to wait. Good luck to you too. (*hug*)