1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

General News Teenager Denied Heart Transplant Over 'Noncompliance'

Discussion in 'Current Events, World News, & LGBT News' started by MerBear, Aug 12, 2013.

1. MerBear

#1 MerBear, Aug 12, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2013
  2. Hexagon

Its not. Its terrible.

3. Daydreamer1

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Are you shitting me?

4. MerBear

No, sir ..I am not.
    do these rules apply to all over the world or just the united states?

5. British Lad

British Lad Guest

No just the USA

6. Ticklish Fish

I'm no medical expert, but does "noncompliance" mean differently in medical legality?

PS. does the news even say everything or omit things?
    Is there bias I'm not seeing?

7. MerBear

"We follow very specific criteria in determining eligibility for a transplant of any kind," hospital spokeswoman Patty Gregory said in the statement to ABCNews.com.

8. Ridiculous

The choice of wording is very poor - 'noncompliance' is doomed to make people feel outraged over this.

However I do see exactly where the hospital is coming from. Let's say they have 100 people waiting for a heart transplant and they get maybe 10 heart donations a year (I don't know the actual numbers but I know it is much less than the number that need them). They can't give them to everyone; realistically they have to give them to the people with the greatest chance of success. If the hospital is correct in saying that he has a history of not undergoing his treatment correctly, then that immediately puts him at a low chance of success. If I was the person deciding who gets the very limited supply of transplants, then I too would be apprehensive in selecting someone with a history of not following their treatment.