1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LGBT News Progress toward Marriage equality

Discussion in 'Current Events, World News, & LGBT News' started by DMark69, May 20, 2014.

1. DMark69

based on this story, there are only 4 US States that don't at least have a lawsuit challenging their ban on same sex marriage. There are 9 states (probably 10 by the end of the day, PA should issue a decision today) that have had their ban struck down, and is currently on appeal and of course 17 + Washington DC where it is legal. This is actually incredible progress considering none of them had marriage equality 10 years ago.

Marriage Equality Round-Up 5/20/14

2. Harve

I don't quite understand this legalese. I guess these are states that have overturned the same-sex marriage ban. Is that the same thing as legalising same-sex marriage?

3. Beetle

I'm not good at understanding it either, but I think it means they're deciding on the issue. Sometimes it's fast, like with Oregon, and sometimes it takes a lot longer, like with Texas where a judge ruled the ban unconstitutional months ago but same-sex marriage hasn't been made legal yet. Something along those lines.

4. BryanM

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Yeah, it depends on if the state or someone representing the ban are defending it or not. In states like Idaho, Texas, and Arkansas, they are fighting the ruling, but in Oregon (and possibly Pennsylvania), they are not.

5. DMark69