1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mass. Sues Feds Over Definition Of Marriage

Discussion in 'Current Events, World News, & LGBT News' started by EM68, Jul 8, 2009.

1. EM68

2. Emberstone

I saw that and smiled. the republican war machine (war on freedom and democracy one) constantly said it is up to the state to allow gay marraige. Well, now that states are allowing it by democratic process (well, some of them are, others are allowing intolerent, slack jawed biggots to take away freedom and democracy), DomA is defying the will of people who have stood up and said yes to gay marriage. I am no lawyer, but I really wish that the whole *up to states to decide* statement can count as presidence for rebuking DOMA's authority over mass, and other states with gay marriage laws.

3. BitterEdge

BitterEdge Guest

well my state was the 2nd state really to allow same-sex marriage so my hope would be that Connecticut joins in the lawsuit.

4. littledinosaurs

Wooo Massachusetts!!!!
    <33333

5. Greggers

Im confused, someone explain what California is doing in federal court over gay marriage and what Mass is doing in federal court over gay marriage and what would happen in both instances if the states won?

Does this just basically mean twice the pressure on the government?

6. Martin

Board Member Admin Team Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    A state can sue the federal government?

Neat. ^_^

7. littledinosaurs

So California is trying to allow Gay Marriage, while Massachusetts is attempting to change the Federal definition in order to allow more benefits (federal) to the already married citizens.

8. beckyg

beckyg Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Good for Massachusetts!

9. Nodnarb

I've come around on the whole federal lawsuit thing. We might was well try it.