1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gay Straight Alliance Conference Speech:

Discussion in 'Current Events, World News, & LGBT News' started by dudethere, May 3, 2010.

1. dudethere

Please give me any feedback thanks !

Hello my name is----. I am a student at Barrie North Collegiate. I am surrounded by friends and family who love me and I love them. I enjoy spending time outside swimming, biking, going to the movies, and spending time on my computer. I am a person like you. I am also a gay teenager. The way I am and the things I do aren’t because I am gay they are because I am----.

But because this is a conference about being gay I suppose I should talk about that.

I have known I was gay since I was four, I thought about it when I was 12 and told myself the truth when I was 13. I am still understanding it. I have came out to friends, my parents and my siblings but I am far from finished. Although I am out publicly at school I still do not always feel comfortable being myself there.

I am a confident person, and am proud of myself for the fact that I can be so confident as a teenager. However being gay is still something I am insecure about. When I wake up in the morning I have to look at my cloths and decide which look, clean, good, or too gay. I am worried that when I walk down the halls of my school my walk may be to “feminine.” I am worried that if I look at the person I care for with too much affection someone might harass us or worse assault us.