1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mikulski pressured to co-sponsor DOMA repeal

Discussion in 'Current Events, World News, & LGBT News' started by Dan82, Aug 24, 2011.

1. Dan82

http://www.washingtonblade.com/2011/08/24/mikulski-pressured-to-co-sponsor-doma-repeal/

2. maverick

(Sent)

Senator Mikulski,

I know that I am not one of your Maryland constituents, but I hope that you will still take the time to read what I have to say.

You may not know anyone personally who is gay or lesbian, but I'll tell you a little bit about me. I'm a published writer who graduated in the top quarter of my class. I'm an accomplished painter and a recognized poet. These are parts of who I am that most people know.

There are other parts of who I am that aren't so positive though. Sure I read a lot, because the library was one place that I could hide. And there were several times that I stood over a bridge trying to get up the nerve to jump, because throwing myself to my death was preferable to telling my family that I was gay.

While I was still in the closet in college, I was awarded a recommendation to the Air Force Academy, but ended up turning down the commission. There was no way I could compromise my integrity by pretending to be someone that I am not for the sake of a law which, for all intents and purposes, made me a second class citizen in my own country.

Now that Don't Ask, Don't Tell is being repealed, I intend to fulfill my original calling and serve my country. However, that is not the reason I am writing you.