1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

High School Bars Student From Wearing an Anti-Same-Sex-Marriage T-Shirt

Discussion in 'Current Events, World News, & LGBT News' started by Dan82, Jun 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dan82

http://www.volokh.com/2012/06/14/hi...om-wearing-an-anti-same-sex-marriage-t-shirt/

2. Linthras

Linthras Guest

I'm no legal expert but I support the school in this case.
    Freedom of speech is not a license to promote intolerance and hate in teaching environment.

3. Steve712

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I agree.

4. kris B

Nah, ACLU is right. While I certainly don't agree with this guy's message, he does have a right to express it. Freedom of speech is very strictly defended by the American constitution- more strongly than in other Western countries. Even in the case when there was this really obnoxious church protesting at the funeral of a soldier, their right to freedom of speech was upheld despite its negative and hurtful message to the parents of the dead soldier.

The problem in saying that hurtful speech can be banned is that anyone who disagrees with you can come and claim that your speech caused them pain.

I have to agree with ACLU because I would like to have my right to denounce right wing Christians even if my sometimes loud protest hurt their religious feelings. And since I want that right, I have to accept that others I disagree with must get it too.

5. rg93

So in theory, a racist person could wear a T-shirt with a black person in chains and some whitty phrase about how "being black is a shame", or, "blacks should be slaves"?

Okay, somthing is wrong with sociaty. :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

6. ArcusPravus

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay