1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A "Struggling Artist"....

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by don29002, Oct 10, 2013.

1. don29002

So, I'm a songwriter. I've been writing songs and poetry since I was 10 years old. I'm 17 now.
    I've always had the ability to write and do my Youtube material, but I don't have the Youtube fanbase that I used to.
    I've always wanted to be a paid songwriter for a huge record label, if only I had connections. I'm looking to compile my songs and poetry in a book and have the book published. I also said on Twitter that it'd be my wildest dream to write a song with my favorite singers: Sia, Esthero, Natasha Bedingfield, and Tamra Keenan.
    Esthero and Tamra favorited my tweet, and Tamra was nice enough to write me back yesterday.

I have all these big dreams but no way of going about reaching them. How can I start with small steps?

---------- Post added 10th Oct 2013 at 05:45 AM ----------

My old Youtube--that I had over 300,000 video views on--got terminated in October 2012.
    So now all I have is Twitter. My current Youtube has only 1,000 views.

2. Moodlighter

Moodlighter Guest

Don't give up man. I've been a composer/producer for 14 years, and only this year was I discovered by a record label. It can get depressing when you get little attention, but keep going. Take a break, then go at it again.

Tamra Keenan, amongst many other Electronic music singers, seems lovely. I've spoken to some (Kirsty Hawkshaw, Tamra, Coco Star, Nicola Hitchcock) online. They are wonderful people. True ARTISTS.

You want to expand your online presence as much as possible. Facebook, SoundCloud, SoundClick, YouTube, Twitter, ReverbNation, Tumblr, BandCamp and more.....as much exposure as possible.

Don't rush your creations/productions, take your time, but keep regular activity online. Make regular posts,