1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Piano

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by Hopeful, Dec 3, 2013.

1. Hopeful

Hey, I've played the piano for years and years now and haven't been practicing anything good in a while. I studied classical/whatever came in those learn to play piano books for a long time, then I played mostly classical and some folk music but on my own I've always been into learning piano songs like The Entertainer, Open Arms by Journey, Ben Folds, etc. Any suggestions for new stuff?

Also, are there any good websites for free piano music downloads? Or if not free sheet music, any sites that are worth joining and paying the fee? I see so many out there and I'm not sure which are good or not... Thanks!

2. beyond

Ever thought of trying jazz?

3. Gallatin

Well, Billy Joel has a lot of songs that are piano-heavy (like the aptly named "Piano Man", "Lullaby", etc.). Elton John is another. Also some of The Beatles' songs (and Paul McCartney's later solo work) have a lot of piano in them.

4. Argentwing

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I'm not in the position to take up piano at this point, but whenever I do get the chance, I will because of this guy. I can rattle off a number of piano-driven songs of his:

Miami 2017 (intro and outro especially)

New York State Of Mind

*She's Got A Way (piano is the ONLY instrument)

And So It Goes

Leningrad

That should keep you busy for awhile. Can you tell I'm obsessed? :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

5. Gallatin

Ah can't believe I forgot "New York State of Mind". One of my faves.

Two others I just thought of - "Baby Grand" and "She's Always a Woman".

6. Argentwing

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone