1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question for those of you who read a lot.

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by MusicIsLife, Jun 19, 2008.

1. MusicIsLife

Do you think that well-known authors who come out with an lgbt novel are less likeyly to gain a great amount of success?

Im asking cause one of my fave authors, Amelia Atwater-Rhodes, she writes fantasy-ish type teen novels, mainly surrounding vampires. But she started a 5-book series a year years ago and finished it last year. Anyway, the 4th book was centered arund this girl who realises that shes a lesbian. Just after reading the 4th one i went on the forums for the book, and i found a lot of her "fans" were angry, disgusted, etc about the book. I was so shocked, i can hardly explain it, because that book was beautifully written.

I want to know what you guys think, cause im an aspiring writer, but chances are I'd write something along the lines of LGBT teen novels. So yea. By the way, if this post doesnt make sense I apologise. I'm really tired. Long day D:

2. LOVEjames

I don't think that they're less likely to be successful, I think that they may just have a smaller fanbase. I know a lot of novels that have been successful that have LGBT themes, but most of the time it wasn't predominantly about LGBT life or whatnot. It was more of a sidenote, like... a secondary character being a lesbian, or a main character having a lot of gay friends, that type of stuff.

And I know that makes like... no sense. >_>

3. Wander

Wander Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    There's a chance that it could hurt a person's reputation, but there's also a chance that it will strike gold with teens who are interested or in support of the subject matter. Any writer should be prepared for criticism.

4. Adrian

Adrian Guest