1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Max Blum from Happy Endings?

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by Zeevie, Apr 13, 2014.

1. Zeevie

Hi :icon_bigg

So, I'm doing my Thesis on the representation of LGBT+ characters on television, and one character I focus on in particular is Max Blum from Happy Endings (a sadly now-cancelled ABC comedy.)

After some research, I've found that people have been quite split on what they thought of him. Some said he was refreshing and love that he broke a lot of gay stereotypes, yet some others said that he was "not realistic" or "not gay enough."

I was wondering if I could get your opinions on him as a character? Did you like/dislike him? Why? Did you like/dislike the depiction of his sexuality? Did you like/dislike how the writers/actor handled the character? Why/not?

It's just for me to gauge some differing opinions and reactions from someone other than myself (I know nobody personally who watched the show), nothing will be published.

Personally, I really loved his character (and all the other characters too) and miss the show dearly.

Thanks! :icon_wink

2. 741852963

To be honest hes the only gay guy on TV I feel I can relate to.

I'd say I have a very similar sense of humour to him (I'm always told I'm very sarcastic and dry - although I never like to mock people). I'm also quite slovenly, and my wardrobe consists entirely of "comfy" well-worn clothes; he majority of which don't fit properly/match. :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes: However I would say Max has a far better dress sense than I do (his clothes aren't faded for a start!). I'd also note that I'm a bit more educated, financially stable and not as bitchy as he is.

I dunno, I just appreciate a bit of a wider representation of gay people on TV. People have very narrow views (likely the result of the media) of what gay men can like and do.