1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is soccer the most homophobic sport in the world?

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by KyleD, May 1, 2014.

1. KyleD

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Family only
    Why haven't I heard of any famous gay soccer players who are active players?

2. FireSmoke

FireSmoke Guest

I think so. Here where I live, soccer is like a religion and they're nearly all homophobic.

3. Argentwing

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Funny considering there's the most physical affection shown between players too XD.

4. Daydream Harp

Pretty sure other "mannly man" sports can easily compete (hah, pun) in the homophobia field, like with American Football, Rugby, Ice Hockey, etc. though obviously I am no expert on this so I could be wrong.

5. aldine

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    The only famous gay footballer I've heard of is Thomas Hitzlsperger, a former German player who played in the German national team, but there is a lot of homophobia in football in general.

There is a story about Pelé himself though that his first sexual experience was with a gay teammate when he was a teenager. He told it in an interview decades ago, but recently he denied it saying that the media that published the interview misunderstood what he said. Now he said there were many of his teammates of that time who had sex with this gay player, but he did not. He said that if it were so he would admit it now, because one makes a lot of crazy things when young.

6. homoblomo

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I beg to differ.

Attached Files:

7. LiquidSwords