1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics being shipped overseas...

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by BeautifulStranger, Nov 18, 2008.

1. BeautifulStranger

Okay, so for Christmas, my parents are sending me a MacBook (along with a bunch of other things that I already know of... I'm a pro at gift-snooping. Being in Germany isn't going to change that...).
    Well, I had recently heard a rumor that all electronics being shipped overseas are intercepted by the U.S. Gov't and taken apart so as to check for spyware and other shit like that. I mentioned this to my parents, and now they aren't too keen on spending several thousand on a gift that may never reach me.
    I really want this MacBook, by the way...

My question is if this is true or not.

I heard it from some dumb and ignorant girl here (she's also American). But a boy who was with us said he read something about that in the paper as well. Now, I don't watch the news or read the paper ever... so all of this information is completely new to me.

My parentals are going to check with the postal service and do some research of their own. As you can obviously tell, I'm researching a bit too.

Does anyone here know about that?
    Can they link me to some information if it is indeed true?

2. Tim

Tim

I've never heard of this... I'm sure it'd be all over the US news if it was in fact happening, due to of course, christmas coming up :S

3. Janvier

Why don't you get it in Germany??
    Your parents send you the money over paypal and you go out and buy it.

4. BeautifulStranger

Due to the conversion rate and the customizations I want, it would be a lot more to buy it here.
    It's cheaper to buy it there and ship it over.

5. SlickyPants

Don't forget to take into account duties and brokerage fees. :slight_smile: