Writing Critique? Constructive Criticism??

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by AlexanderDragon, Sep 28, 2015.

1. AlexanderDragon

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey, so I'm an author, but I've had a hard time finding people to honestly give me feedback and constructive criticism on my work. I was wondering if any of you would be willing to give this short story a read and maybe offer suggestions as to how I can improve?

The ticking of his pocket watch was a most terrifying sound to hear - yet oddly mesmerizing. It grew louder with every step closer he took, an overwhelmingness of orderly clicking, in ever so perfect time. Tick, tick, tick, tick. The steps were growing quicker now, matching time with the mechanical clicking. Closer, and closer still he came. I tried to run, I tried, really I did. But the sound! The watch, its rhythm and melodious percussion rooted me to the spot. I could do nothing but close my eyes, and accept my end. The footsteps halted, but his watch was so loud in my ears I could not discern how far away he was. I did not dare open my eyes. Several moments went on like this, the ticking growing ever louder. Louder, louder, louder! Abruptly, the ticking ceased. What was presumably the watch, fell to the ground and shattered.
    "Your time is up, Your Grace. As well is mine."

Here's the teaser for the second installment!

An Unusually Long Eleven Fifty-Nine.

I had a quiet death. I wouldn't say it was peaceful, just quiet. I'll be quite frank, I was terrified. I still hear the ticking of his pocket watch, a marker of every second passing spent in my gray eternity. Though, in hearing the seconds pass, I can be sure that none of them actually occurred. I've checked the clock in this barren, gray room, and it is for certain in working order. But... The hands never move. It's always been 11:59, at least since I died.

#1 AlexanderDragon, Sep 28, 2015