1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Guitar players wanted

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by J Schuelke, Apr 26, 2009.

1. J Schuelke

Hello all, I have a question for the guys and gals who play guitar. I've been playing for almost 6 yrs now, and just recently one of my friends wants him to teach him. Now my question is, for those of you who took lessons, how did you begin to learn? Did you cover the notes and music theory? or did you just learn chords and jump right in with some songs?

I learned by just knowing basic chords and then learning a few songs here and there, and i personally do not like going over music theory. But I just want peoples opinion what is a better way of starting.

After typing the title, I just realized like I am wanting to form a band or something, LOL! Which I am not trying to do (though it might give me something to do).

Any feedback at all would be appreciated, but do not feel obligated.

Thanks! ~Mav~

2. Miles D

Hmm... well I played piano first then cello, and had upwards of six years of theory and eight years of music experience before picking up guitar.

Try to teach your friend the basics of music theory, i.e. what chords are, intervals, basic rhythms, etc. Then move to how to physically play the guitar, i.e. hand positions, how to place fingers, strumming techniques.

Then move to actual chords. I find tablature ("tab") really helpful for learning chords. Make sure your friend knows what chords he's learning, and don't teach him just bar chords! Finger-picking is also fun, teach him that :slight_smile:

Feel free to ask me more questions, if you have any :grin:

3. Just Adam

well.... i teach myself and im naff with chords and doesent suit my style anyway

best way to start isnt actually playing its learning best way to hold guitar and to know different styles theory then practical