1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Laptop question

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by nintenfreak92, Nov 13, 2009.

1. I am getting ready to go off to college and I am going to need a laptop. I have never used a mac before, only pc's. What do you guys think would be the best laptop for college related things?

2. George1

George1 Guest

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Just get a windows based laptop. Seriously, it'll be much easier for you if you don't reguarly use Macs and your University/College uses mainly Windows machines.

A Dell Studio XPS or if you're on a tight budget an Inspiron are good. We've got mainly Dells for laptops here and they all are very good machines.

3. Kenko

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    IMHO there's far more bang for the buck with non-Apple computers.

"Collage related things" depends on what program you're going into. Is there any course specific software you will need to run on your computer? During my degree all course specific software was Windows based. However there's some programs that rely on OS X software (I'm thinking graphics / film)

Keep in mind most universities have ample computer labs / public access computers. I've rarely seen computers used in class to take notes. Mostly to check email, post on forums, homework for other classes, play poker, etc.

Some courses are easier than others to take notes on a computer. Generally sciences / math don't go very well with a laptop, unless you have a tablet.