1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone write novels with LGBT characters?

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by Emberstone, Nov 26, 2011.

1. Emberstone

I am curious if there are any writers here at EC that are writing novels with LGBT characters?

I have been writing solidly since 2004, but had never had a LGBT character before. The stories that I was writing were either Asexual, or Heterosexual, depending on my vision for the story. Tonight, for the first time, I have a story that has not only a LGBT character in it, with their sexuality being important to the plot, but also, he is the main character.

I always told myself that I would only ever have a LGBT character if it grew naturally and fluidly from the story itself, and I would never force it (I don't force anything in my plotting because I find that it really makes for substandard storytelling.)

I am really excited for the story, though I do not expect to start writing it seriously for a while. I really want to work out the details and the dynamics for it (it is a paranormal thriller/romance, which is all I feel like saying at the mo'... gotta keep my secrets, after all).

2. yeahyeah

yeahyeah Guest

I don't write novels but I've written some ideas for a tv show and some others for short stories (I don't have the stories, just the main idea of them hehe)

3. Messed Up

Messed Up Guest

What about a screenplay? ‘Cause I am (shy) LOL

4. Maddy

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Yeah, I am at the moment. I'd originally thought about writing sa classic coming-of-age/coming out YA story, but ended up switching the protagonist to the other central character and found some great new conflicts and ideas I can work with.

5. J Snow

Yes, in fact I have the first couple chapters up here