1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Producing your own music?

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by SriManayaDasan, Aug 16, 2012.

1. I've always wanted to make my own music and produce CD's. I have some basic knowledge of music structure ( I was in band for about 4 years) such as measurements, time signature, etc. and I have a decent voice. However, I have some questions concerning this.

1.) How do you write a good song? Like how do you make sure that the words and rhythm stay in the time scale? How to you know if the lyrics are actually good? What are some topics that people are sick of hearing?

2.) I don't play any instruments. What are some good music programs (like Fruity Loops, etc.)

3.) Sometimes, are simple structured songs nice? All songs don't have to be like Rush.

4.) After it is all produced, where can I advertise myself?

5.) This isn't a question, but my influences are Sia, The Killers, No Doubt and early Maroon 5.

2. speedboy3

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Well I can't answer tge first part since I only write instrumental music, but make sure the song you're making is from the heart. As for software I personally use musescore because its free, but if it doesnt fit your needs then dont use it. Personaly I believe the simpler the better. If somethings not needed then why put it in? Youtube would be a good place to start, but try anywhere you can find. Good luck!

3. GreenRaven

I want to do the same thing, sorta, well....I've already recorded my own stuff and made burned cd's out of them in high school and what not...but I haven't for a while and would like to get back into it