1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Violin sound?

Discussion in 'Entertainment and Technology' started by crimsonarcher, Jan 25, 2008.

1. crimsonarcher

first of all, Hi!
    second, it might be odd to ask, but i need quick help on the violin.

Ok, i haven't found a teacher, and when i try to play the violin, it produces a scratchy and alomost whispering tone, even with rosin and everything. which kinda scares me, cause that's not how it usually sounds like, right? i just want to see if any violinist on EC could help me out? Am i doing something wrong?

:confused: :confused: :confused:

2. TheMusicMan

TheMusicMan Guest

I'm your man, crimsonarcher! I'm studying violin at the uni here, so maybe I can be of service.

Here are some possibilities:
    1) Are you applying enough weight with your right hand? Weight is primarily directed by your pointer finger (when playing nearer the tip of the bow) and pinky (nearer the frog), so make sure you've got a firm grip.
    2) Are you playing on the "meat" of the strings? In other words, are you playing near halfway between the end of the fingerboard and the bridge? (It's the so-called "Kreisler highway.") This is where the violin sounds best, and is likely the culprit for your wispy tone.
    3) Do you have quality strings on your violin? They may need to be replaced, or you may simply need to upgrade to better strings, depending on what type you already have on your violin. Sometimes poor or worn-out violin strings will begin to unwind and lose their reslience, resulting in a poor sound.
    4) Does your bow have a decent amount of hair on it? It may need to be rehaired if there is not a sufficient quanity of hair on it to accept the rosin you use.

Hope this sheds a little light on the sitch!

3. Alexander

Could also be that your bridge is not completely straight or centered.

4. sdc91