1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Letting go of someone 14 years after they left?

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Milhouse, Jul 22, 2013.

1. Milhouse

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Straight
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I guess I'm posting this primarily as a vent, but I'm open to general advice as well. I don't often make threads like this, but this is a very special case for me, I suppose. I'm trying to let go of my first ever love. I'm kind of a hopeless romantic, I guess you could say, when I really fall for someone. I've been holding on for 14 years now. Yes, I know I'm only 25.

I'm a long-winded writer, so I'll share the story first but if you want to be quick, Feel free to skip down to where I put "The topic."

The story:
    I grew up with this kid who I always thought of as a simply platonic best friend. I wasn't sexual yet, so I obviously never thought about him in 'that way' while we were together. I just knew that he meant the world to me, and I figured that we would be together forever.

Well, shortly before I went to middle school (where I was going to be going to a different school than the one he was going to) he started literally running away from me. He would still talk to me or visit occasionally, but considering we used to sleep over at each other's places for years, it was much less than usual. I started seeing less and less of him, and by the time the sixth grade was well underway and I was totally lost and friendless in my new school, I was no longer seeing him at all. I even received word that when one of my brother's tried talking to him, the guy just ignored him completely.