1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S. O. S.

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by Eeyore01, Aug 8, 2013.

1. Eeyore01

Hi,

I need some help. I apologize in advance for this being a long post; it's just a letter I recently wrote back to one of my (completely straight) closest friends. I've posted this because I don't really feel comfortable talking about myself in this setting - it just feels so wrong to be sharing these details of my life with total strangers. Some general things you probably need to know about me is that I'm halfway through med school (where somehow, despite my reflections below, I'm actually doing very well), I've never had any type of intimate relationship where I felt happy/comfortable, and I've had some limited dating experience with other guys which just left me feeling not too great about myself. I'm just sitting here alone tonight and feel very scared. Not much to lose, so here goes..
    ---
    "Hey, thanks so much man. I just read your message through three times. I appreciated all the thought behind what you wrote, and know it's sound advice. I think I'm struggling with some things that seem to get in the way of having a lot of continuity in my social life. And yes, sometimes I do look at things from a negative perspective and withdraw from some situations because of this. My mind might jump too quickly to these thoughts because of negative outcomes I've had in the past (family, which I've yet to really resolve, as well as being ignored/rejected by guys I like). Seems like the only way forward is to keep stumbling and put on a more confident facade about it.