1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Seeking advice on lesbian relationship timeline

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by wanderinggirl, Aug 19, 2013.

1. wanderinggirl

People say that lesbian relationships move faster than straight relationships. Is this true in general? Or is this an oversimplification? How do I avoid being swept up in it and letting things move way too quickly? (we're past the 3rd date and havent UHauled yet, so I'm guessing we're ahead of the curve, but I just want to make sure...)

2. BooksJeansTea

Have you talked to her about this?:slight_smile: I'm not an expert but it's probably a good place to start. Sounds to me like it's not that you don't like her (in fact, sounds like you really like her :wink:), just that you don't want to ruin a good thing by being too hasty.

3. wanderinggirl

That's exactly the situation; we're both caught up in it and really like each other, but we've only known each other a few weeks. I wouldn't be worried, but both my brother and best friend have commented on how fast it's moving, and my best friend said "well lesbian relationships are known to move pretty fast." So I'm wondering if there's something about a lesbian relationship that makes us move things along too fast or if this is actually a really good sign? How do we tell?

4. Thegreatperhaps

Yeah, lesbian relationships do typically move "fast." I was aware of this before dating my current girlfriend and tried to prevent it as the idea of things not progressing normally kind of scared me, but once I let my guard down with that idea, I noticed that we probably move a bit quicker than usual. :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes: Every relationship is different however, and I believe the main focus should be your happiness.

5. Amelie

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Hi,