1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Finding love at work/school, Yea or nay??

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by oddlife35, Aug 28, 2013.

1. oddlife35

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Is looking for love at work or school OK? I've recently started grad school as an older student, not old, old, but older and there are many my age there. I'm not out yet, but plan to be soon. I'm new to this. I see guys that are attractive to me and of course, I don't know if they are gay. Should I even be doing this? Grad school is not exactly like college but not exactly like work. Still, what do others think? Looking for love at work or school OK? Is it realistic? Any stories?

#1 oddlife35, Aug 28, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2013
  2. Jay1983

Jay1983 Guest

There's a well known rule that you shouldn't flirt and have an intimate relationship with a colleague. It can create many problems. Jealously amongst colleagues. Argument. And more.

One of my former straight colleagues fell in love and married to another colleague. They only lasted for several months. The girl eventually resigned and moved to another company.

But he didn't learn the lesson.

Fast forward few months, he flirted with another colleague. They broke up after few months being together. Both of them resigned.

I'm not saying you can't have a relationship with your colleague as it may work for you. But it's not encouraged.

I can't speak for school though.

3. ryanalexander61

I'm also a grad student. I don't see what would be wrong with looking for a relationship or even just friendship among your classmates. If things go south, you really would just have to avoid taking the same classes as them or even if you had to, it might be tolerable.