1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My mother is embarrassed of me-need advice

Discussion in 'Family, Friends, and Relationships' started by srffla, Aug 29, 2013.

1. srffla

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hey everyone! I'm new to this site, so hopefully I came to the right place. I've really been needing to vent about this situation for awhile, but last night the situation really came to a head. I'm not friends with a whole lot of fellow lgbt folks. I mean I do have some great lgbt friends that I've known for years, but my immediate friends that I see/speak to on a daily basis are straight, and although they supportive, I don't feel like anyone really, truly understands. Of course my background is really long, but for the sake of I trying to "keep it simple" for the forum and to get some desperately needed advice, I'll try my best to give the short/summary version.

I have always had a tumultuous relationship with my family. I was raised by my grandmother (my mom's mom) for the majority of my childhood. Due to my family's business, I lived with my grandmother, but saw my mother everyday because they worked at the same business. Growing up, I never understood why I couldn't just go home with my mother. My mother would always tell me, when you get in middle school you can live with me, then it became high school... Basically it never happened. It lead me to being a troubled teenager, getting into trouble, etc.